Before I discuss the work of Jamie house I just have to mention how I came across his work

Andy Adams (who appears to be the hardest working man in contemporary photography) and his website Flak Photo continue to innovate with online photography curation and interaction. Andy’s most recent revival has been via social networking, and in particular Facebook. I am more than familiar with the endless Facebook fan pages that exist with no purpose other than self promotion (myself included) however the Flak Photo Network is doing something different.

The FPN has taken full advantage of Facebook’s various customisable page setting and I have to say it’s fantastic. My facebook usage has tripled over the last few days and Flak Photo is solely responsible. I can’t recommend this page enough, it is just an extremely accessible place for like minded individuals to discuss photography. GET INVOLVED

Jamie House is a fairly unfamiliar photographer to me and without the wonders of Facebook and Flak Photo it is very possible that his work would have past me by until such time when he is exhibiting in a major venue. His Blog has a number of extremely inonvative methods of interacting with photography which I recommend spending some looking at as some things on there are extremly interesting, but for the mean time I want to concentrate on Stranger: Memories.

I deliberately used the phrase “interacting with photography” when referring to Jamie’s work as I feel this is the best way to describe it. He is not simply making images, he has an emphasis on the photographic, it’s purposes and it connotations. Stranger: Memories follows this thread of interaction.

“This project is a result of me producing images of other people’s memories that I have mined from the internet on various social media sites. These people have befriended me online but are not people I have met in person.

Each image is produced by a long exposure focussed on a computer screen while browsing a stranger’s social media images he or she has posted on their Flickr and Facebook accounts.”

With my current interest in creating work using found or appropriated material, I have to say I was instantly captivated by Stranger: Memories. I grasped the concept instantly and the more I looked at it the more connotations started to appear. Reflections on a society bombarded with photography and photographers drowning in a sea of the vernacular all began to spring to mind. Emotions that resonate with me as a photographer/artist but also as a participant in this crazy social media infused society we are all part of. How ironic it is that I am commenting on this work after praising the power of facebook on a internet Blog??

I’ll leave this post with a great description of the processes involved behind this piece by Jamie himself.

“My latest work that uses themes of digital memories and mining images online”