I was given Albert Watson’s book by my older sister as a Christmas present last year and it is truly a visual delight.

The first thing that strikes you about Watson’s work is his superb understanding of light. The man is clearly a master technician when it comes to lighting his subjects. I get the sense that every minute element of the image has been predetermined, no happy accidents here. His images are so flawless that I can only imagine the preparation required to achieve this.

Perfection

Scottish born and now living between New York and LA, Watson has shot covers for the most famous magazines in the world including Vogue and Rolling Stone.

Another element of Watson’s work is his eye (no pun intended-he is blind in one eye) for the basics. Shape, texture pattern and form are extensively used in his images. He reminds me that when I am getting carried away with the latest strobist info or Barths’ studium and punctum, to take a step back from it all and remember the building blocks of aesthetics. We must master these before we can continue any further in order to succeed in image making.

Shape and Form- Naomi Campbell

Shape and Form- Naomi Campbell

Beauty

Beauty

I recently listened to an interview with the man, which I found quite interesting. He disscusses a number of things and interestingly one of them is a very famous wedding. You can listen to it here.

ALBERT WATSON